A beautiful country hit hard: Pray for Bosnia

ImageSo I have decided to use todays post to mention the horrific flooding that has happened and is still continuing to cause problems in my home country, BOSNIA. I had heard about the horrible weather they have been having this past month and the continuous rain that has caused many areas and cities to flood. However, I wasn’t aware of just how bad it has become and the terrible conditions people were having to live in and cope since it began. The flood has hit not only Bosnia but Serbia too, and was declared a national emergency after roads were completely drowned by water. The country has experienced the worst flooding for 120 years and is managing to recover and evacuate people where the flood is at its worst.

This beautiful country has been through a lot and is an inspiration that has managed to stay strong and overcome the tragedies of the past and rebuild itself into the country it is today. Many Bosnian people have been through a lot in the past and have worked extremely hard to create something positive and make a new home for themselves for it to just be washed away by this devastating condition. I am however hopeful they will be able to do the same in this situation and continue to support one another and get through this disaster with the help of peoples prayers and love. Although I don’t currently live there I have a lot of family that are still there and this country will always have a piece of my heart no matter where I am.

Pray For Bosnia  

16 thoughts on “A beautiful country hit hard: Pray for Bosnia

  1. I am in the same position as you. Watching with unbelief how a country already devastated gets additionally smashed with the power of nature. We also have a house on an island in the beautiful river Una, so it really feels bad watching this mess. But most important is that people are saved, all the rest can be built up. This flooding though, should open up a discussion about building houses in areas that are always at risk for flooding. I have seen, traveling through Bosnia, (my house being the first) that almost all houses are built almost directly at the riverside, so even small increase of water level leads to a mass destruction… sad but true…

    • Thanks for your comment! I completely agree with you, the safety of the people is what is most important and getting them to a safe place. I couldn’t imagine the devastation they must be feeling at this moment and having to leave their homes, and for you to have a house near to the flooding. My family has an apartment in Tuzla so luckily it hasn’t been damaged but sadly for a lot of people that isn’t the case. What you mentioned about building houses near the riverside is completely true, they are more at risk and nature is unpredictable, it is something that should be debated and hopefully no more houses are destroyed and people can start to rebuild their lives again.

  2. Looks horrible. Thanks for bringing this situation to our attention. I had no idea that the flooding was that bad in Bosnia and Serbia. My prayers are certainly with those suffering there.

    • Thanks, I appreciate that! yea its really bad in certain towns, some people have lost their homes completely whilst others have left until the area and their homes are safe to go back to. The country has already been through a lot and it took a while to rebuild their homes and now they will have to do the same after the flooding, hopefully they will manage to rebuild their lives soon.

  3. I was just seeking this info for some time. After six hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your web site. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this kind of informative websites in top of the list. Generally the top sites are full of garbage. dfgedcefbedd

    • Thanks for your comment! I was in the same position as you, I couldn’t find much information on the flooding and I hadn’t heard about it till recently. I learnt about what happened through friends and family as they live in Bosnia but trying to find any information on Google wasn’t as easy. I completely agree with you on the type of information that is ranked high on Google or any search engines, most of it as you mentioned is ‘garbage’. There are loads of Facebook pages with images and up to date information on the flooding you can check out, one being ‘Pray for bosnia page’. Hope my post was helpful!

  4. Thanks again for raising awareness on this issue. After I read your post and a little more on the Internet, the national news here published the flooding damage there as lead stories this week. Very tragic situation.

    • Thanks for sharing! I’m glad that more awareness has been made because there was limited coverage on the flooding up until now. I think people have started to realise just how bad it is and that help is needed. Thanks again for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

