‘Thursday Thoughts’: As I began to love myself…

Image
As I began to love myself I freed myself of anything that is no good for my health- food, people, things, situations, and everything that drew me down and away from myself. At first I called this attitude a healthy egoism.
 Today I know it is “LOVE OF ONESELF”
-Charlie Chaplin, about self love. April, 16th 1959.
 

This weeks  ‘Thursday Thoughts’ is one of my favourite quotes; I feel words that are inspirational and true are the most empowering and beautiful.

Everyone at one point in their lives embarks on this journey of self discovery and self love and realise all the things that matter in their life and the things that need to be left in the past. His words are said perfectly and I feel everyone can relate to it and use it to re-evaluate their own situations. There was a point in my life where I lost all confidence and I really didn’t know how to love myself and appreciate who I was, it was partly because of the people I surrounded myself with and allowing my insecurities to get the best of me. However, when I realised that the problem wasn’t with me it was with the negativity surrounding me, I began to take on a new perspective on life and allow myself to be alone and use that to focus on the positive things and establish who I really was and who I wanted to be. What I have learnt is, since I went on this journey of self love I found myself to be much happier, stronger, loving and I allowed good people and a good relationship into my life which has been my motivation and my strength to learn how to appreciate not only myself but the beauty of life and what I have achieved and what I am capable of achieving. Allowing someone special to love me, allowed me to do the same and I haven’t looked back since!

So I hope this quote inspires you just as much as it has inspired me. I would love to read your thoughts and what inspires you or your views on this weeks THURSDAY THOUGHTS in the comments below!

 

9 thoughts on “‘Thursday Thoughts’: As I began to love myself…

  1. This inspiring, one has to free himself/herself from the captivity of negetivity. Soround yourself with happy people and you will be happy. When ur with sad people you will always be sad Modes are contigeous

    • Thanks for your comment! I agree, being with positive people will help you live a more happier life and by surrounding yourself with negative people will only bring you down which is not healthy at all. It’s important to also encourage people and allow them to grow and realise what they want in life and the people that will help them to do that.

  2. Definitely does! Thanks for sharing the Chaplin quote–I had not heard it before.

    I think your personal experience hits on an important point. You are wise and made the decision to reevaluate your life–and then make changes. One of those modifications was to lessen the impact of the negative voices in your life. I remember at a previous job, I started to feel blah. I did the same thing and reflected on why my attitude had changed. I quickly realized that I had been spending lots of time with several employees who were constantly complaining about everything. As soon as I reduced my associations with those folks, my attitude and outlook became much more positive again.

    It is amazing how a few bad attitudes can really impact our lives.

    Enjoying your posts and discussions–as Ganzymalgwi said “keep up the good work!”

  3. Thanks for joining in! I couldn’t agree with you more, whether there is one or a few negative attitudes surrounding you it does have a real affect on your own personality and emotions. I think that you realised you had to make a change and disconnect yourself from those employees was a strong decision and it eventually had a positive impact on your life which I feel everyone has to go through in order to understand and appreciate the good things. Thanks for sharing your experience, I think a lot of people would be able to relate to it.

    Keep up the good work too 🙂

Leave a Reply

